Adventures

A Visit to the Zoo ๐Ÿฆ๐Ÿ๐Ÿงโค๏ธ๏ธ

Hello everyone!! I’m back with a non-beauty related post, this time, it’s about my visit to the zoo! I went just yesterday with a few of my church friends as there are 2 interns from USA at my church at the moment and we wanted to show them aroundย ๐Ÿฏ I have like 300+ pictures, but I will only post a few so as to not ruin the fun for you if you choose to visit the zoo sometime soon!

So, my friends an I met at around 9.45am at Khatib MRT station as there is a shuttle bus service ($1) that will bring you to Mandai Park where there is the Singapore Zoo, Night and River Safari! It was a bright and sunny day, which was great for a day at the zoo!ย ๐ŸŒค

Enjoy the pictures!!ย ๐Ÿค—

IMG_6923

This has got to be one of my favourite pictures because the white tiger just looks so majesticย ๐Ÿฏ

The Fragile Forest was probably one of my favourite exhibits because you are basically in a life sized terrarium but with animals! The Fragile Forest is home to mouse deer, bats, parrots, ducks and so much more, you’ll just have to go and see all of them for yourself! ๐Ÿ™€ย You are able to get sooo close to the animals, and it’s always a surprise because you’ll never know which animal you’ll see next.

IMG_6934

This bat was just enjoying his orange which was tied to a tree branch, he was literally less than a meter away from me!!ย ๐ŸŠ

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetIMG_6927

This orang utan was dancing around to receive his snacks from his keeper, I thought it was so brilliant and funny as I’ve never seen a monkey do drinks before!! And, it really amazed me that orang utans are so intelligent that they only danced when they saw the keeper. I also love that whichever animals which can be free ranging are allowed to just roam around the zooย ๐Ÿ’“

Another interesting thing that Singapore Zoo does is that they show you pictures of the animals, with their names and the animal’s personalities!!ย So, for example, in one of the monkey exhibits (I’m so sorry, I can’t remember which specific species it was), there were individual pictures of the monkeys with their names and one of the personalities description was like ‘loves to tease others by pulling their hair’.ย ๐Ÿ˜‚ I thought that was really cool because I always kinda knew animals had feeling, but knowing that each of them have personalities? I guess it shows how much of a living being they are, which we tend to forget.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Okay, my FAVOURITE exhibit at the zoo was RepTopia!! ๐Ÿ I don’t know what it is, but I find reptiles especially fascinating. Yes, I am the most afraid of them, I think that’s why I was so excited to be able to look at them up close!

IMG_6929IMG_6931

The picture above is of a Horned Lizard, and it is able to squirt blood out of its eyes!!! Oh my goodness, this may be the best defence mechanism I’ve heard about so farย ๐Ÿ’‰

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

After everything, we went to the Kids Zone and there were such cute goats!! Hahaha, there was a bunch of leaves on this branch thing with a sign that said something like ‘Please use these leaves to only feed the goats.’ and naturally….. I fed them a lot!!!ย ๐Ÿƒ

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

So, here I end off with a super kawaii happy smiling goat about to eat a leaf!!! Honestly, I think the zoo wasn’t just fun because you get to see and learn about animals, but they also inform you of how the animals are in the wild, about their populations decreasing and the ways we can help. It was pretty eye opening to see how we affect their numbers so easily.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading and maybe am encouraged to pay a visit to the Singapore Zoo soon!! It was a great day spent indeedย ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Singapore Zoo

Address: 80 Mandai Lake Rd, Singapore 729826
Telephone: 6269 3411
Opening Hours:ย Mon – Sun: 8.30am – 6pm

Leave a Reply

